The Canadian Wine Industry Awards recognize the success, leadership and outstanding commitment in Canada’s grape wine industry and the individuals, organizations and businesses that have gone above and beyond to support and enhance the wine industry in Canada.

Award of Distinction

The Award of Distinction is the preeminent award for the Canadian wine industry and regarded as the highest form of peer recognition and appreciation. The award is presented to an individual or family, current or past (owner, manager, employee) of a Canadian winery that has demonstrated outstanding leadership, commitment and passion for the advancement of the Canadian wine industry.

Eligibility:This award is open to individuals or families, current or past (owner, manager, employee) of the wine and/or grape industry.

Wine Industry Champion Award

The Wine Industry Champion Award is presented to an individual who has provided exemplary support for the Canadian wine industry through media, research, policy and regulation, education, advocacy or other means, significantly contributing to the overall strength and long-term viability of the industry. The award recognizes the extensive community of Canadian wine champions who are passionate about Canadian wine and industry prosperity beyond those employed directly in the industry.

Eligibility: This award is open to all stakeholders (who do not work in a winery) who support the development of the Canadian wine industry.

Karl Kaiser Canadian Winemaker Award

The Karl Kaiser Canadian Winemaker Award is presented to an individual who has exemplified leadership in winemaking, has exhibited mentorship with fellow winemakers and others in the industry, and has invested both time and energy towards winemaking excellence. It is presented in memory of the late Karl Kaiser, one of the founding winemakers of the modern Canadian wine industry. 

Eligibility:This award is open to all grape winemakers working in a Canadian winery. 

Nomination and Selection Process

  • The Canadian Wine Industry Awards are open to all organizations, businesses and individuals in the Canadian grape wine industry.
  • Individual self-nomination is not accepted; however, organizations or businesses may apply directly.
  • Individual board members and employees of Wine Growers Canada are not eligible for the Award of Distinction.
  • The judging committee will consist of persons actively involved in the Canadian wine industry.
  • Judges are expected to declare any conflicts of interest.
Key Dates:

Call for nominations – September 25, 2023
Deadline for nominations – December 15, 2023
Announcement and ceremony – March 12, 2024
Press release and website announcement – March 12, 2024